Been to North Korea? Wave goodbye to US visa waiver

The United States has revoked visa-free entry rights to the US for foreigners who have visited North Korea in the past eight years.

Details posted on the US Customs and Border Protection website now show that visitors who have travelled to eight countries, including North Korea, on or after March 1, 2011, are ‘no longer eligible,’ and they will have to apply for tourist or business visas.

Currently, the US allows citizens of 38 countries, including France, Germany, Italy, Portugal and the United Kingdom, to enter for up to 90 days without a visa under a waiver programme.

Some of the countries not eligible for visa-free travel to the US include Yemen, Iraq and Syria.